Inventory of Greed

January 28, 2011

by Stacee Hord

Every day, commercials, billboards and advertising tell us that what we have is not enough. If we just get this thing or that thing, life would be better and we would be happier.

I typically get depressed when I go to the mall—just about every time. I know my husband notices it and just a few weeks ago I noticed it. Ads scream at me, making me feel self-conscious about my body, my clothing, my skin, and well, my lack of enough money to buy these things that will, supposedly, make me “happy.” It’s no shocker why there are so many cases of eating disorders and plastic surgeries, and especially, credit card debt in America today. Marketers are getting better and better at what they do. They convince you that you are not good enough without a certain product or procedure, and then they exploit you to the best of their abilities to get your money.

Since when has a product ever made you happy, for the long run? Never. Some things boast temporary bliss, but I believe wholeheartedly that your possessions should not define you. I’m not saying that having stuff is wrong; I’m not saying that at all. All I’m saying is to look at your life and if there are possessions in your life that you feel like you absolutely could not live without and you are not willing to give up under any circumstances, that is sin.

“…Let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.” – Heb. 12:1b-2a

God wants us to strip off everything that slows us down, for example, the things in life that keep us from Him. Again, I am not saying that having stuff is wrong; when we let our stuff control us it becomes sin. Jesus gives us the power to love others and sometimes that requires us sacrificing our stuff, or our comfort.

The bible says in Job 1:21 that “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave.” When you leave this world, God will not be standing in front of you to see what awesome things you bought, the stylish clothes you wore, or nice cars you drove; he is going to ask you, “So what did you do with what I gave you on earth? Did you invest your time and money in others, or did you hoard everything for yourself and what makes you happy?”

Matt. 6:19: “Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where moths eat them and rust destroys them, and where thieves break in and steal.”

So, I challenge you this—take an “inventory” of your life this week. Really look at your personal situation and see if there is anything that is hindering you from experiencing Jesus for who he truly is. What “things” have you stored up for yourself that you are grasping with clenched fists? Jesus wants us to live open-handed and willing to give up our stuff, and sometimes our comfort, for individuals that are in our family circle, friend circle and even our communities.

Leave a Reply

