My favorite ways to use Dr. Bronners.

One of my most FAVORITE natural products is Dr. Bronner’s castile soap. For me, it was the best product to get when switching to natural products because of its versatility. This soap has SO many uses and it 100% pure and clean! No toxins or chemicals to worry about – hooray! And a large bottle will last a very long time… at least 6 months or longer at my house.

DSC_0106
There are literally hundreds of ways you can use this soap, but my favorite ways to use it are…

Baby Wash & Shampoo. I use the Dr. Bronner’s baby-mild or the lavender for my kiddos. It’s easiest, simplest, purest way to get my kiddos clean. Johnson & Johnson baby used to have formaldehyde in it. Not really something you’d want absorbing into your child’s skin, huh? Thankfully, they have taken it out, but it still has chemicals in it that your body does not (nor should it) recognize.

Body Wash. I love the lavender and the peppermint to use as my daily body was in the shower! It has a silky, creamy texture and cleans very well. I have used this as my shampoo before, and while it works in a pinch, I find that my hair needs something different.

Hand Soap. You should never use antibacterial soap. Ever. Okay? “But…. how will I get rid of the germs, you weirdo!?!?” I hear you now. But, research has shown that when people washed their hands with antibacterial vs. regular hand soap, the way they were getting rid of the germs was not because of the type of soap they were using, but by how long they washed their hands. It didn’t matter if they were using the antibacterial type (which causes these crazy superbug/germs, along with a host of other health issues), what mattered was if they washed their hands for at least 20-30 seconds or not. Yeah, I’m talking to you, all you people who “wash” your hands in the bathroom by spritzing a little soap on your hands and quickly rinsing in under 5 seconds while you shake off the few drops of water that you managed to get on your fingertips. You disgust me. I love you…but you disgust me.

Cleaner  I like to clean my shower, sinks, and even toilets with this mixture! I take a couple tbsp of Dr. Bronners and mix it with some baking soda and water to make a paste that I rub over the surface to be cleaned, then use a sponge to scrub and wipe clean.
So, there you have it. My favorite ways to use Dr. Bronner’s soap, which will get you feeling clean and being green in a flash. =)

Here’s how you make up a bottle (for washes and soaps) –

Ingredients:
  • Water (preferably distilled, but not totally necessary)
  • 2 TBSP Dr. Bronners in whatever scent you choose (or unscented for newborns). I like lavender.
  • Foaming pump. You can buy these from Amazon, but the cheapest way to get one is to go to the store and grab another type of foaming soap and empty it out to use.
Directions: Put about 2 TBSP of Dr. Bronners in the bottom of a foaming pump. Slowly fill the rest of the bottle up with water, screw the lid on, and give it a shake! Now you’re finished. Use your super-crunchy new product with pride knowing that you’re not putting something harmful on you or your family’s body. Easy-peasy!

Leave a Reply

